The Bad Makes Me Appreciate The Good

Hurtful truth: The bad… the really bad… sometimes makes you appreciate the good 100x more than you would have if you hadn’t been through hell.

As you can see from my previous posts, I’ve been through some stuff. I’m not saying a lot of it wasn’t due to my own makings, be that as it may, I still have been through some crap. All this stuff that I write about makes me so grateful for where my life is now. I tell my husband all the time how much I appreciate him, respect him, honor him, and of course love him. ;D I have seen what a terrible relationship looks like so I can easily recognize an amazing one and furthermore appreciate the little things. Today, my husband drove to have lunch with me and my co-workers. First, that was super sweet. He has had lunch with me the past three days, and I adore those times. Then, I had forgotten to bring a dessert from the other side of the building so I had to leave him by himself in our conference room while I did that. If that had been me, I’d be in severe panic, but he was totally fine. So I really appreciated his chill nature, which is one of the many things I love about him. Is it weird that we’ve known each other for three years, and I’m just now starting to feel like I can be myself around him? I don’t mean flatulence or seeing each other naked lol! I mean… dancing like an idiot or singing in front of him or even laughing together about something stupid. There’s peace in that vulnerability. Something I have never felt before in a relationship- just being me… and he thinks the real me is spectacular. Sometimes I wonder if all the nice things he does for me is just him still trying to impress me or is that who he really is? Hmm, I’ll ask him one day.

Okay okay. enough gooey sheeeee-it! So now, the bad work. I worked at Applebee’s for 6 months. It’s the crap jobs that really make you appreciate any job with decent coworkers/bosses because they can seriously make or break employment. I worked for some great people (really awful company overall), these great people made up for it though. I worked with them for over 7 years, but then my dream job came available. It couldn’t have worked out any better.. maybe I’ll talk about God’s hand in that one day, but not tonight. My previous job was great. I was pressured at work 2 days of the month and the rest of the time was relaxing. I worked flexible hours, got out of the office, saw/spoke to hubby any time I wanted, 5 minutes from home, had amazing co-workers and an amazing pay check. Cha-ching! $$$ But my heart wasn’t in my work. I spent 40 hours a week at an office doing work for a company that was bankrupt watching co-workers get laid off, reducing benefits all around, and trying to take retiring medical away from company retirees. It was bull, and my talents were being wasted. They were shocked the day I told them I was not going to switch to the new company… So now I have my dream job. I have never been so busy at a job. I make less money, and my office is smaller… but my co-workers feel like family. My supervisor always has words of wisdom and unique perspectives. I feel like my work is meaningful and for a good cause. I am a counselor for adult victims of child sexual abuse. Now, I wake up feeling like I’m exactly where God wants me. Smack dab in the middle of His will, and life couldn’t be more beautiful*

Leave a Reply

