Happy Independence Day!

This is a special day for me beyond the typical patriotic reasons because on this day two years ago, I said yes to my darling. I didn’t say yes because he impregnated me or because I thought I couldn’t live without him. I didn’t say yes because I didn’t want to hurt his feelings. I said yes because I wanted to spend the rest of my life with him, and that is one side of freedom to me- the ability to do something without feeling forced to do so. There are numerous people to thank for that.

I spent the holiday in Washington D.C. this year with some friends and visited the Tomb of the Unknown Soldiers (aka Tomb of the Unknowns, Tomb of the Unknown Soldier). I have determined that the changing of the guard is incredibly moving to watch in person. So many people have given their lives for our various freedoms, the known and the unknown. I have such an amazing blessed life, and a huge part of that is due to the people who have fought for me. It’s crazy to think of how the times have changed since the signing of the Declaration of Independence, and as I sit here while listening to fireworks going off, I think of all the soldiers who have spent nights listening to gunfire in the distance, all the soldiers now with PTSD issues listening to fireworks, and all the people who have been involved in wars, whether soldiers or families of soldiers. Thank you all for serving. Thank you for me being able to be do work I love, live where I live without fear, take care of my son, and provide a great life for both him and my husband. So many blessings I have because people fought for freedoms this country was founded on. Thank you all.

Leave a Reply

